Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Style 的评价和反馈

4.7
1,079 个评分

课程概述

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

热门审阅

MS

Apr 18, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LJ

Dec 17, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

筛选依据:

26 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Style 的 50 个评论(共 307 个)

创建者 salima h

Mar 23, 2016

wonderful course, clear assignments, informative lectures. of all the classes this one changed my writing the most. I thought it would be the most extraneous of the series. I thought the plot and character class would be more important but in fact, just paying attention to style helped the movement of my stories - it forced things to happen, it forced a plot, it forced a character to do things. Scribona's advice is practical - use more nouns and verbs, pay attention to how you describe the world through the eyes of the characters, learn how to edit and so on. He helped me finally get a handle the POV i use all the time in writing, but never really understood, and so I used it badly.

Some of the other classes in the specialization were too heady, and not practical. But most importantly, Scribona's love for the written word was so apparent during the lectures that it elicited the same reverence in the students.

创建者 robin b

Apr 18, 2020

I really loved this part of the course. All these creative writing course exercises force you to concentrate on different aspects of writing, developing plot, character, background, adding lots of details, subtracting details. I felt they opened possibilities of writing that I had never considered, and offered different ways of looking at one thing.

The critiques forced us to remember the instructions for each assignment, and to really study each writer's story and to objectively judge it, but still be kind and fair and highlight what was correct and good.

I liked the reviews I received, even the negative ones. I think when we receive negative ones, we inwardly already know it, but it is nice to have someone confirm it and take an interest.

The lectures by Amy Bloom, Salvatore Scibone, Amity Gaige, and I think Rondo Skyhorse were a treat.

Thank you.

创建者 Sampo B

Feb 12, 2017

For a beginner, this course was a challenge in comparison to the other three base parts of Craft of Writing, but as a result of the challenge, it is by far the most rewarding as well.

The concepts discussed, and the material provides the learners with both broad perspective into several topics that I would argue to be crucial in becoming a writer, and also a deep look at some very key concepts to writing.

I would recommend taking this course last of the four, before beginning the Capstone project - if you're planning on going through all the parts. If you're a more seasoned writer, I would recommend starting with this course, and seeing how you fare with it.

I've enjoyed all of the base courses, but for me personally, this one struck the strongest chord.

创建者 Jack H

May 16, 2018

As were all of the preceding modules, this was extremely informative, encouraging and rewarding. I cannot count the number of times I had started to write something and never finished it. I have had some really good ideas, and I've had a lifetime of really exciting experiences, yet they are bits of scrap paper in long-lost boxes. No more !! Now I carry notebooks and pencils everywhere I go. I number the pages, write and make illustrations constantly. I am trying to remember and resurrect the old stories and poems and am diligently trying to do the same with new things. These Wesleyan courses have been a turning point for me. The instructors seem like old friends, even though we've never met. Wonderful program.

~Jack Hayes

创建者 Drea H

Oct 21, 2020

I really liked the contents and assignments of the course. It helped me improve my writing. Nevertheless, I think the way peer review is applied in this course needs to be reconsidered. Some people don't seem to take this very seriously or would need more examples of what helpful critiquing is supposed to look like. Unfortunately, this means one doesn't learn much from peer's feedback as quite a few people write just “good” instead of giving real feedback. It's not okay to be able to get a certificate if people don't really do the work that is necessary getting it. Also, it's quite a bummer if you have invested time to write a detailed feedback for someone and get “good” back.

创建者 Laura G

Oct 1, 2016

Excellent course! I appreciated the instructor's enthusiasm for the topic, and found his lectures thoughtful, interesting and enjoyable. I had several "ah-ha" moments, where things I had learned before but never solidly grasped came into sharper focus. (For example, the concept of "no ideas but in things," which Professor Scibona explains very well.) I think my writing will be greatly improved by putting into practice the things I learned in this class. I would love to see a "Part 2" that delves more deeply into the topics covered, and covers other aspects of the craft of style.

创建者 Luke H

Nov 11, 2020

I have completed 4 of these: Craft of Style, Characters, Plot, Settings and description and each and every one is packed with learning. Easy to understand, yet intricate, in how it it to write, whatever you want to do with it! I am a writer and have been, but this course and all in Creative Writing Specialization taught me things it would have taken me decades to understand, if I ever came to in the first place. This one is probably my favorite, though. The instructors in all of them are excellent, but the instructor for this one, Salvatore Scibona, is my favorite.

创建者 Milagros V

Nov 26, 2018

I was fascinated with this course. I think it raises the bar on how to become a better writer fro the reader's sake. Writing is more like painting and less than retelling. It's important to respect the reader's intelligence, she/ he can figure out the obvious, and as writers we want to entertain, engage the reader's curiosity, provide pleasure in the human senses. I also found it one of the most challenging of the courses because of the emphasis and care we should take in word choice. Words are the substance of all good writing, they should not be squandered!

创建者 Amanda Y H

Feb 12, 2018

My favorite of the four courses in this specialization! While many people may be fantastic at what they do, they are not always great at teaching it, but this is not the case with Salvatore Scibona. He is a fantastic teacher and I learned so much from taking his course. Not only do I now have insight into everything I read (I find myself constantly analyzing other writers' work), I also feel that I have the tools to compose my writing efficiently and intriguingly. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who loves to write fiction!

创建者 Maria-Isabel C

Feb 11, 2021

I really recommend this course. The content is clear and concrete and has helped me in a great way to understand the bases of what is important in style and what is not. Professor Salvatore Scibona transmits his experience and enthusiasm in a way that is easy to follow. Also the comments and contributions from the other teachers of the Creative Writing course and other writer guests were very useful for my understanding of this subject and practice in writing. The assignments were challenging for me and very interesting exercises.

创建者 Ricardo P

Jul 14, 2019

In The Craft of Style, Salvatore Scibona tackles the different ways to stylize your writing so that it becomes clear and succinct as possible. He also teaches you how to get rid of extraneous words that may affect the flow of your writing. After completing the other courses in the Creative Writing program, this is a must for any beginning writer who wants to smarten up their prose and take their writing up a notch. Thank you for the course! I enjoyed it.

创建者 Antoinette W

Feb 28, 2021

This course really challenged me to think outside the box. I had to create feelings without expressing or saying what the feeling was. I have always had issues with descriptions with emotions. In this class, I had to rely on verbs and nouns to describe what I wanted to say and carry the story's emotions. This is a good course to take to help elevate your story and show your character's feelings at a deeper level than saying what the emotions are.

创建者 Joseph S

Feb 11, 2020

The course, content, and such were fine; however, trying to get people to review your assignments was excruciating. In fact, if one person rates you zero with little-to-no useful information (like a few words), they can give you zero points. One individual rated me "zero" because I had made some comments in the review of his work. I gave him 1/1 points on the assignment, so I believe this to be the reason for his flawed comments or evaluation.

创建者 Peter I M

May 27, 2020

This was my favorite course. I liked the breakdowns that the educator gave on the dry erase board. There was a passion and a method to the way the he carried out his lessons, and a structure to the overall course that made it very easy to absorb. I can still remember two of the visual aids he used in the course and I don’t think they’re going anywhere soon. I liked how it was broken down, and the assignments were fun and challenging.

创建者 Pramod A

Oct 29, 2018

I picked up very specific pointers, such as the importance of nouns and verbs, brevity, and not going inside the protagonist's mind but letting my words imply his feelings and thoughts. The instructor has an easy-going style that kept my interest throughout. The written assignments were essential to use what I learnt, and they were fun. The course has motivated me to enroll for others in this 4-course program on Creative Writing.

创建者 Tuakondja V

Apr 4, 2022

I enjoyed this lecturer, and his method of teaching. Very explicit and precise. I found this to be the toughest segment so far. It is very difficult to edit your own work and cutting out parts- which you (as the author) feels like is a necassary part of your story is even more difficult. I enjoy the peer review, but I would like to know, at some point a professional will come in and give some real constructive feedback.

创建者 Jahnvi K

Jun 27, 2020

I took this course as part of Creative Writing Specialization and greatly improved my aesthetic perspective. Earlier, whenever I read a book, my main focus was on the plot and other things seemed like fillers. But this specialization has taught me that a crucial part of reading a story is imagining it. In this course, I learned how to make implications through the description and write in a clear and unambiguous style.

创建者 Edwin D S d L

Dec 24, 2020

Professor Scibona makes this course fun and interesting. It is a great way to finish the courses of the Creative Writing Specialization, as it really challenges you to put together everything you've learned in the remaining three. If taken as a satandalone course, it provides tools for writing more polished stories, cleaning up the clutter and finding creative ways to express ideas in a concrete fashion.

创建者 Maria R

Dec 1, 2020

Loved absolutely everything about this course. I find the way the material is conveyed by Prof. Scibona to be ideal. It is a complete picture of a writer and writing professor, from personal experiences to short exercises which illustrate key points of editing, reading recommendations and great dialogue. Thank you. If you are interested in writing, there is no doubt this course will benefit you.

创建者 Steven M

Nov 28, 2022

The content and assignments were really interesting! Salvatore Scibona's delivery could be a little uneven, but that was more than made up for by his endearing enthusiasm and his ability to get his ideas across. I learned a lot!!!

The only negative I experienced was that many of the peer reviewers filled in my assignment review answers with short strings of meaningless letters and/or numbers.

创建者 Patricia B

Jun 5, 2021

The creative writing courses have taught me structure. From this course I learned that rather than explaining ideas, an author shows and tells details which leads the reader to the essence of the story without going into the mind of the character. Also, the reader-writer arc beautifully illustrates the balance of the writer-reader relationship, which is useful to keep the reader engaged.

创建者 Victoria F S

Dec 14, 2018

This is the course I had been looking for, but didn't know it! I enjoyed the professor and the exercises, which were about putting pen to paper, so to speak. Just what I needed and wanted. I feel very much myself as a writer after doing these assignments, reviewing the work of other writers, and receiving insightful peer reviews. Thank you for offering this course and specialization!

创建者 Sara C H J

Jun 30, 2020

If the previous courses helped me gaining more knowledge on the craft of plot, character, and especially, description and setting, this course opened my eyes to the importance of using the right style by searching for it through my own voice and the usage of the appropriate words in every scene. Finding your style isn't that easy, but instructor Scibona did a fine work in refining mine!

创建者 Jenny J G L

Apr 6, 2018

Salvatore Scibona is an excellent teacher. I learned a lot from this course. My only complain is that for this particular module in the specialisation as it's about language and language style, the staff should apply a language (English) level requirement, because some students' writings are so painful to read--full of error spellings, jumbled sentences and wrong use of words.

创建者 Jacqueline G L

Dec 1, 2020

Of all the courses in the specialization, I know I enjoyed this one the most. It challenged me to not be wordy, that an inexperienced writer is known by his repetitive use of adverbs, that my descriptions need to be more concrete and overall don't tell, but show.

The most challenging for me was the last assignment. It made me reflect more on how I share my story.