Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Style 的评价和反馈

4.7
1,080 个评分

课程概述

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

热门审阅

MS

Apr 18, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LJ

Dec 17, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

筛选依据:

51 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Style 的 75 个评论(共 308 个)

创建者 Jacqueline G L

Dec 1, 2020

Of all the courses in the specialization, I know I enjoyed this one the most. It challenged me to not be wordy, that an inexperienced writer is known by his repetitive use of adverbs, that my descriptions need to be more concrete and overall don't tell, but show.

The most challenging for me was the last assignment. It made me reflect more on how I share my story.

创建者 Roy N

Jan 25, 2018

I started this course rolling my eyes. It just felt like it was going to be a lot of flowery language amounting to not much. I was so wrong! Describing intangible ideas in a way one can digest and then apply isn't easy, but the professor does it well. I left with some models that I will definitely use in my writing. This course is packed with a ton of value!

创建者 Patricia H V R

Aug 22, 2020

Este es un buen curso para principiantes. Aporta muchos elementos para encaminar el proceso creativo y la investigación en pro del avance en la carrera como escritor. A nivel de estructura enseña muchas estrategias útiles y las prácticas contribuyen a afinar la destreza narrativa y aplicar técnicas para construir mejores historias.

创建者 Zsuzsanna J

May 16, 2016

It is a very interesting course, but I think it is difficult to understand if somebody is not English speaker. However, I recommend this course to everybody who likes writing and wants to know more about style and text editing. The teacher is excellent, his explanations are clear. The exercises are funny and I could learn from them.

创建者 Kalin Z S

Sep 24, 2020

Really good course. Salvatore used just the right amount of theory to show us how to write more convincing and pleasing prose. I am super happy with the overall specialization so far. Also for some reason in this one I got lucky and most of the feedback was more elaborate and constructive from my peers which was definitely a plus.

创建者 Meeta

Jun 13, 2020

This course is ideal for someone looking to up their narrative writing skills. I am marketer and brand writing is an essential part of my day job. Through this course I have picked up many helpful tics on writing comprehensive and compelling storylines that deliver impact - a quality that underscores good brand writing.

创建者 Naomi C R L

Sep 4, 2016

One of the best classes in Coursera.

I heard about style but I never really knew what it meant. I am glad to have taken this course. I learnt a lot and I am very excited to apply these in my writing. "Not ideas but in things" was most challenging but it was worth the try. Thank you very much for sharing.

创建者 Rayyan F

Dec 23, 2021

My favorite course and instructor in this specialization. The assignments are challenging and thus interesting. I love the way Salvatore talks, you can tell he has a lot more to say. He goes after a though from so many sides that you can't but listen to what he has to say. I highly recommend this course.

创建者 Jaime E

Jun 21, 2020

Salvatore is AMAZING! He really knows what he is talking about. This course was such a great stepping stone for me when it comes to perfecting my craft and hopefully a career change in the future. I will use what I learned in this course for the rest of my writing career! Thank you!

创建者 Lori B C

Jan 18, 2017

This was an incredible class with a passionate, dedicated professor. Salvatore makes you want to write your heart out. The exercises were thought provoking and I was fortunate enough to get some good feedback, which helped boost my confidence. A wonderful experience! Thank you!

创建者 Alfred K

Nov 27, 2018

I did not know what this meant when I started. I thought you just right once you get the flow. now I can write and review my work checking my style of writing and learnt a lot form the interviews from visiting professors.

teacher is cool and sometime I loved your way of teaching.

创建者 Ryan M

Oct 26, 2021

Salvatore is a terrific teacher. I'm a teacher myself, and it's very fun to be someone's presence who really loves describing the ideas and skills of the class. His knowledge of the subject is thorough and deep, and his teaching is easy and fun to follow. Thank you so much!

创建者 Phoenix S P

Sep 3, 2018

The Craft of Style is an amazing course. Professor Salvatore is an engaging lecturer who gives comprehensive explanations and shows how the techniques he is teaching have been used by award winning authors. The assignments are clearly explained, engaging, and challenging.

创建者 Miza K

Apr 5, 2020

I like the way this course has taught me how to edit and how to accentuate when writing and to be creative and thoughtful with the words to use to bring about the right message. Including the way of talking about a subject without actually naming what I'm writing about.

创建者 Jane D

Aug 27, 2019

I enjoyed the course immensely, the lecturer is very skilled and to the point. I really understood the importance of staying clear in my narration and painting vivid pictures the readers could appreciate and relate to, as well as meet me in the middle of my storytelling.

创建者 Catherine B

Aug 31, 2016

I thought this class was incredibly useful. It has a lot of good information, as well as good ideas on further reading a student can do to further their own knowledge after the course is completed. I found this to be one of the more useful classes in this specialization.

创建者 pinky s

Nov 14, 2018

This was a particularly difficult course among the others. Expectations were higher, assignments were tougher, but it helped me immensely in writing better. Polishing my writing and editing. My writing has become crisp, and specific. I am more confident as a writer now.

创建者 Joe M

Mar 14, 2019

Course 4 of 5 for me in this specialization.

All of these have been fantastic and this one was another example of how great and informative these courses are. Once again I was made to think very critically of my own writing and start thinking about how I want to write.

创建者 Ole D J

Mar 19, 2018

Awesome course.

Can feel the missing pieces slowly fall together in my writing for every assignment.

So happy this and other related courses were made available on Coursera.

Will mention the author as well as this course in my first book if I manage to get it published.

创建者 Tania M

Nov 13, 2020

Este curso me sirvió para mejorar significativamente mis técnicas de planificación y escritura de novelas de ficción. Enfocado el fortalecimiento del estilo propio del escritor, el tema es tratado de una forma precisa pero pertinente con el tema. Lo recomiendo.

创建者 John T

Jun 3, 2021

As with the entire Creative Writing certification, great course. Amazingly well thought and put together, in my opinion. I actually feel like I know how to write fiction now, which I wasn't convinced I could do before taking the course. I feel very fortunate

创建者 Aditya R

Jul 20, 2020

A very brilliant and thorough course. Salvatore introduces us to various aspects of Style and how to use language effectively, moving away the focus from only rich vocabulary. I highly recommend this course who is searching for that X-factor in their writing.

创建者 Orjuwan M A J A

May 29, 2020

I just want to thank professor Salvatore Sccibona for such a wonderful course , he has a great technique in teaching , I am so happy that I have joined his class , thank you all for such a wonderful experience

God bless you and be safe

best regards from Iraq

创建者 Egill P

Dec 27, 2019

I find all the writing courses in this specialization to be very rewarding, especially for people who want to further themselves on any level of writing. Be it a better email, essay or short-story the teachers here a really great a big thumbs up to them.

创建者 Jennifer L C

Jul 4, 2017

The Craft of Style and the course on plot are the two strongest offerings in this specialization. I really enjoyed the exercises, and I stretched my creative muscles, all with assignments that were clear and well explained. This is an excellent course.