Chevron Left
返回到 Health Across the Gender Spectrum

学生对 斯坦福大学 提供的 Health Across the Gender Spectrum 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,878 个评分

课程概述

This course offers an intimate, story-based introduction to the experiences of six transgender children and their families. Through illustrated stories and short teaching videos, learners will gain a better understanding of gender identity and the gender spectrum. Stanford physicians, K-12 educators, and transgender faculty members offer practical tips for parents, teachers, healthcare providers and anyone who wants to help create a more gender-expansive environment - one in which all people can live authentically. As a global community of unique individuals, we can begin to build a world that is ready to nurture and love each and every child. Due to the sensitive nature of the story-based course content, we have chosen not to offer course certificates for this course. Simply put, we feel that the thoughts, ideas and sentiments of these remarkable children and their families... are priceless. We are confident that, like us, you will end up learning more from them than you could ever imagine. Together, we can lay a stronger foundation for all children. Join us as we explore health, across the gender spectrum. Additional note: When submitting answers to quizzes, you may be asked to enter your "full legal name". This feature is primarily for verification purposes for courses that offer a certificate on Coursera, so it does not really apply to this course. We recognize that, for some individuals the name they use does not match the one on their legal documents. Please feel free to enter the name you normally use in these boxes....

热门审阅

PB

May 10, 2017

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. My stepson (born a female) is transgender. This course has helped me understand things more and gave me a lot of pointers on how to do things. Thank you so much!

CM

May 17, 2020

I love how concise and easy to understand the videos were. They all get straight to the point and it was really a mind-blowing experience to learn about the differences and what we can do to support.

筛选依据:

126 - Health Across the Gender Spectrum 的 150 个评论(共 594 个)

创建者 Phoenix K

Jul 17, 2017

This was a remarkably kind and compassionate course, and as a genderqueer parent of trans kids, with a trans spouse, I felt that this course is vital for our medical professionals to have as a basis for their understanding in how to best treat us.

创建者 Heather B

May 24, 2021

This course was very informative. I enjoyed hearing about the lived experiences, as opposed to simple textbook based information. It's really given me a broader understanding of gender-inclusivity, and ways to support transgendered individuals.

创建者 Mike B

Oct 27, 2021

I found the course was excellent. It covered the many issues faced by each group of the LBGQT populations. It reaffirmed to me that our best tool to help us deal with these populations are acceptance, empathy, dignity and humanity. Works for me.

创建者 Leandro M

May 14, 2020

No solo me encanto el curso, sino que me resultó muy útil, ya que siendo docente suelo encontrarme con muchas situaciones que se describen en los testimonios que brinda el curso. Creo que TODOS los docentes deberían formarse en estas temáticas.

创建者 Adela b j

Mar 16, 2018

Excellent introduction to a gender expansive perspective, which eased my way into the right vocabulary and some mechanisms for acting around children (and adults!!). Thank you for a brilliant course, I've been recommending it to all my friends.

创建者 Clare U

Jan 5, 2021

I think this course is important for everyone to take! Learning more about how to create safe spaces for everyone from a health perspective really opened my eyes to even more ways to make the health and education sphere more inclusive for all.

创建者 Natalia L

Sep 11, 2022

I liked it a lot, very varied and didactic, with videos with experiences told by the same people, it makes learning easier and more entertaining to know, to see, to face, in addition to having open questions where you can give your opinion

创建者 Eleni A

Jun 4, 2020

I so enjoyed this course, it was informative, interesting, engaging and well-executed. The combination of animations, voice-overs and interviews worked perfectly and provided a sense of lightheartedness when dealing with important issues.

创建者 Ana W

Jul 27, 2020

Listening to these interviews has helped me understand a bit better how transgender children and people feel. The facts presented may be a bit simplistic, but I think it's a good resource for people who don't know what transgender means.

创建者 Amanda D

Oct 17, 2017

I learned a lot from this class. Although I have always been accepting of Transgender friends and family members, I did not know much about the medical implications. I also learned more about what I can do to support Trans individuals.

创建者 Sonya L

Jul 26, 2017

I think this course should be available to anyone and everyone. The videos are terrific and I would love to use them in my talks on diversity and inclusion. It'd help bring more awareness and also encourage people to take this course.

创建者 Vicki W C

Apr 17, 2017

Great use of time. Great introduction to the Gender Spectrum. Provided a variety of tools to support a transgender child. Recommended for parents, teachers, educational administration and all health care providers serving children.

创建者 florida g

Jul 24, 2022

I have realized many things while going through this course. It made me reflect how I deal with our students in school as well as individuals in our community who might be experiencing challenges because of their gender choice.

创建者 María P G

Jul 25, 2020

Excelente curso, realmente de utilidad no sólo en la adquisición de conocimientos teóricos fundamentales con respecto a esta temática, sino que lo más valioso radica en poder conocer las experiencias de los niños y sus familias.

创建者 Wan F A B W Z

Dec 28, 2020

Good relevant material with easily understood language used. Im in a Muslim majority country and I want to learn more about helping people with different sexuality/gender feel more comfortable in their lives and support them.

创建者 Redeemer G

Jul 13, 2017

A very informative short course who tackles several aspects in relation to the gender spectrum , health and social care. It provides a scientific feel and mostly a qualitative approach which gives a human aspect to the topic.

创建者 Mia B

Jun 24, 2021

I found this very helpful in furthering my knowledge and understanding of the Gender Spectrum and how I can apply this new found knowledge to my work and personal life/space. This was really beneficial and also eye-opening.

创建者 Saadiya Y

Jun 30, 2017

This was really insightful. This course should be thought in every school and more awareness should be done on this subject matter, in order to create a less discriminating society. I will do my best to make this known.

创建者 Michelle B

Sep 21, 2020

As an introduction to the gender spectrum, this class provides an opportunity to hear from those actually living in the spectrum, as well as professors, to provide real world perspectives. It is a gentle introduction.

创建者 Traci A

Nov 2, 2020

So many stories of people living as trans. This course starts out that way and continues, sprinkling in training and advice along the way. It moves you towards empathy and connection with this approach. Recommend.

创建者 José L C P

Sep 30, 2017

Soy médico con especialidad en pediatría, me ha interesado mucho este tema, pero no es fácil encontrar artículos serios y con rigor científico. Con la Dra. Maya Adam ya tome un curso sobre alimentación, es excelente.

创建者 Paola A

Jun 4, 2020

The course was very enriching, it helped me to better understand the subject, the difference between the sex assigned at birth and gender. Furthermore, I consider it important for me as a future health professional.

创建者 Ajaykumar K

Jun 10, 2017

The first time I have actually been able to complete an online course. Perhaps, the format was very tactful about a sensitive topic. I worried that it might be very theoretical; but am happy that basics are covered

创建者 Helena B

May 20, 2021

This is an EXCELLENT course where it easily broke down and explained this new environment (for me) I now feel far more able to speak and support people going through this. I couldn't recommend this highly enough.

创建者 Emma C

Nov 13, 2017

Really enjoyed taking this course. I think it is such an important course for all people in general to undertake, but especially in the areas such as health and education, as identified in the learning materials.