Chevron Left
返回到 Indigenous Canada

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Indigenous Canada 的评价和反馈

4.8
20,756 个评分

课程概述

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

热门审阅

JB

Jan 21, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

VK

Feb 23, 2021

Excdellent course! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to learn the material presented. Thanks you so much! All the work that was evident in putting this course together was worth the effort!

筛选依据:

6601 - Indigenous Canada 的 6625 个评论(共 7,298 个)

创建者 Steven C

Jul 22, 2020

Overall, really enjoyed the course and learned a lot. The only criticism I have is that I felt the course sometimes painted Indigenous culture and pre-contact life in Turtle Island as too idyllic. I would be interested to know more about pre-European-contact inter-nation relationships and conflict, and issues in resource management from that period.

创建者 Kelly B

May 25, 2022

The course content was excellent. Love the option of videos or reading or both at once.

The site itself is a bit painful to navigate and the pop ups are distracting/confusing...and it continued right to the end when you have to go searching for your certificate. I expected it to be with one of the 2 emails sent the instant you complete the course.

创建者 Julia G

Apr 21, 2022

As a non-Indigenous business professional, I found this course insightful and clear. The mix of lectures, quizzes, interviews and art kept the course dynamic and helped me gain perspective on these issues. My only criticism is that the speakers spoke very slowly (luckily the videos could be sped up). I would recommend this course to all Canadians.

创建者 Steve M

Dec 30, 2020

Thank you for the opportunity to take this course. It has helped increase my knowledge and understanding of both historical and contemporary issues. Perhaps a few more visuals about the topic (examples of art by the various artists). It is quite obvious that many, many hours went into this course and for this I say thank you. Ny giwa, Boma pi

创建者 Carrilee E

Mar 4, 2022

I learned much and the course inspires me to learn more. I will continue to follow more Indigenous creatives and speakers. I hoped to learn more about Mi'kma'ki, particularly Water Protectors/Grassroots Grandmothers. Their efforts and success at Sipekne'katik were what prompted me to take this course. I will seek that out. Thank you very much.

创建者 Darryl D

Dec 7, 2020

I loved this. Thank you. One little thing, though: the text displayed while the instructors speak was often inaccurate- it was as if Siri had taken it as voice-to-text dictation. As a more visual learner, I would have found the presentation of the actual text that the instructors were reading more valuable. Not a big problem- just a rough spot.

创建者 Marianne H

May 21, 2018

I've never really known much about Canada at all, not being Canadian myself, and its first inhabitants who were there before the European arrivals were a closed book to me, but this course has been truly enlightening as well as interesting. I particularly liked the works of art with their accompanying explanatory videos at the end of each unit.

创建者 Andrea M

Nov 25, 2020

content was great. enjoyed learning about the journey indigenous people have taken and are still taking in Cananda. The delivery became very tedious after week 6. More graphics or interactive learning would have made the content more interesting. it was a chore to finish all 12 weeks . Thank you for the opportunity to complete this course

创建者 Todd N

Dec 11, 2019

Lots of work went into this. There are many videos, but for those of us who access and retain information better by reading have a very well-put-together set of resources. The modules take a lot of time, but if you can space it out it's not bad at all. The speakers are charismatic and obviously experts, invested in sharing their knowledge.

创建者 Craig W

Dec 28, 2021

I found the course incredibly informative and allows the learner to get a basic understanding of the plight of the current indigenous community. It also helps the student understand some traditional ways of life which allows us to understand and comprehended how we can align and educate people to help with preservation of a sacred culture.

创建者 Kara B

Dec 26, 2021

Although important information, I found some modules challenging to follow with so many dates and people to remember. Being from the west coast i also think i would like to learn more about the history and culture in the west but know that a course like this still would only scratch the surface. Thank you for your time and your knowledge.

创建者 Linda C

Sep 28, 2021

I learned a lot about the history of Canada from an Indigenous perspective. This is not taught in the school system and it should. All Canadians need to know the real story. Thank you for the opportunity, I really enjoyed the course. I didn't give a full 5 star review because I think the course could have been a bit more interactive.

创建者 Alison S

Sep 20, 2021

It was a very well designed and delivered online course. A great overview that can be used as either a refresher or as a solid foundation for further study. I particularly enjoyed the personal stories that were woven throughout but my favourite module was the last one, which covered the rich arts and media landscape of Indigenous artists.

创建者 Anam C

Nov 15, 2020

This is a very timely course for those of us who are descendants of settlers who know that there have been injustices done to indigenous people since contact and have a desire to change things in the future. It is only through education that racism is eradicated. Thank you all for being part of the healing by increasing understanding.

创建者 Rebecca M

Jan 25, 2023

I thought it was very enlightening. Well researched and presented. I would have appreciated more visuals when referencing artists works or samples of jewelry and clothing. Pictures or videos of round dances, other celebrations, hunting and gathering, erecting a teepee, to name a few, to get immersed into the experience a little more.

创建者 Julie R

Jan 7, 2021

I found it very interesting but some of the weeks were very long and unfortunately I had to leave the video sessions and go back a few times which meant repeating some of the material already covered. I also found that the multiple choice questions were sometimes very hard. It was not easy but I guess that may have been the intent.

创建者 Katie M

May 11, 2018

The course was very good. It was delivered in a way that is easy to understand and follow along. The only thing i suggest is for the test questions to be in order in which they appear in the videos. I found that I was contently flipping back and forth between the first and middle part of the course notes.

Overall a excellent program

创建者 Juergen E F

Feb 26, 2021

This course taught me about the Canadian history I was not taught during my education. In school we learned about settlers and their struggles, but nothing about the peoples that were displaced by the settlers and the actions of the government and the church to assimilate and destroy their culture. Thank you for opening up my eyes.

创建者 Theresa D

Aug 31, 2020

I found the course very informative and impressively comprehensive given the time span and context that was covered. I found some grammatical logistical errors distracting. I plan on taking this information into my communities to have fuller discussions and meet the challenges this provides for those of us who are non-Indigenous

创建者 J W

Nov 24, 2020

The material was well presented and covered a vast array of topics. As the course moved along I felt the quizzes didn't accurately assess my knowledge both because of the small number of questions asked and the types of questions. Overall a well-worthwhile course that greatly increased my knowledge and understanding. Thank you.

创建者 David T

Nov 22, 2020

This course has provided me with some context when I read about indigenous issues in Canada. My empathy has been heightened to the point where I ask myself: “How, as a privileged middle-aged white male, can I use my privilege to support indigenous Canadians achieve their goals. Thank-you for preparing and delivering this course.

创建者 Maggie B

Apr 27, 2022

Great course and informative, even if you're aware of Indigenous issues. Should be a required course for anyone in a power position and espcially for anyone working in any capacity with First Nations. Only drawback is this course is a bit old and needs major updating in the MMIWG and residential school sections, in particular.

创建者 Laura C

Apr 13, 2021

It would have been beneficial to the course to have more visuals. It was difficult at times as a visual learner to stay focused. The final module (art) would have been better with images of the described art. Other than the above comments, the course greatly elaborated on the "typical" Canadian highschool education - well done!

创建者 Angela C

Mar 15, 2022

This course was really interesting. I learned so much about the history of the relationship between the Indigenous and the settlers that I didn't know, or had never heard. (I fall into the "settler"group). I have a whole new appreciation for the viewpoint of our Indigenous people and how the Indigenous have been exploited.

创建者 Robert D C

Jul 24, 2020

The course was informative and interesting. I found some of the in-video pop up quiz questions were out of sync (e.g. the question would prompt before the content it referred to was covered, usually this was only by 10-20sec). I would have liked to have seen more content on eastern Canada, but in general I enjoyed the course.