Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to GIS Mapping

学生对 多伦多大学 提供的 Introduction to GIS Mapping 的评价和反馈

4.9
1,916 个评分

课程概述

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

热门审阅

AF

Apr 16, 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

KS

Aug 1, 2021

This course is all about the introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Don Boyes made this course very easy and so entertaining. Thank you so much.

筛选依据:

76 - Introduction to GIS Mapping 的 100 个评论(共 605 个)

创建者 Sumit K

Jul 17, 2020

The course gives an excellent introduction to few of GIS fundamentals. The approach towards course delivery is very good and the user/participant always gets something from a perspective which is quite innovative and easy to grasp. Overall a wonderful learning experience.

创建者 Luis A M C

Feb 14, 2020

This was an awesome course. It has provided me with the foundations of geographic information systems in a clear and accessible way thanks to Professor Don Boyce. Not only this, but now I have the motivation of learning more and deepen my knowledge of this field.

创建者 Megan H

Oct 22, 2021

This course was excellent, Dr. Boyes is an excellent lecturer. The videos were very well prepared and very informative, I learned a lot about the basics of mapping, such as datum, projections and beginning to use ArcGIS. Thank you for the excellent course!

创建者 Char A

Nov 10, 2020

First of all thank you to Coursera and University of Toronto to give us a chance to study online. Thank you to Prof. Don Boyes, for teaching us about the GIS Mapping. I learned so much from him and I will continue learn more about the GIS mapping.

创建者 Maks R

Nov 16, 2022

O curso é excelente e bastante objetivo. As aulas possuem duração bastante agradável, evitando que o aluno perca o interesse no conteúdo que está sendo lecionado. O professor é muito didático e explora os conceitos nos mínimos detalhes possíveis.

创建者 Fuad H

Apr 20, 2020

This is a great learning platform.I have learnt a lot of things from this course that I was not cleared before.Thanks to Professor Don Boyes for his great teaching effort.I will recommend everyone who are interested in GIS can take this course.

创建者 Gemma E

Jun 17, 2020

A great introduction to the world of mapping and ArcGIS. Introduced several concepts that one would not otherwise think about and with such great delivery that you appreciate these concepts in making maps and understanding map projections.

创建者 Nik P

Mar 10, 2022

It was amazing how he can explain such a complicated context in a very easy understandable way! Highly recommended! I learnt not just about GIS, but I also look at each world map in another way! Very intersting and informative! Thank you!

创建者 Helen W

May 24, 2020

This course gives a really solid grounding in the fundamentals of GIS, with definitions, great explanations and good exposure to industry software. Bonus: Don Boyes is a fantastic lecturer, so it's really easy to follow the information.

创建者 Rifqi F

Sep 9, 2020

Fantastic! I have background in Urban Planning study, at first didn't sure "introduction" is necessary. After Completing the course, I'm really surprise that there are many great explanations in this course that anyone could implement.

创建者 Rutherford K B

Jan 2, 2021

Prof Boye is really on top of what he does. Hardly does one make an online class,so lively like it is in person. His extra detail informations about the nuances makes me appreciate the GIS subject better. He did a great job on this.

创建者 Natalie P

Sep 28, 2020

The course was very interesting and entertaining. The teacher is great and explains all the contents very clearly and in a very fun and didactic way. I enjoyed going thorugh the topics and I look forward for the rest of the courses!

创建者 ISHTIYAK A

Apr 30, 2020

I love the way of instructor to teach about the course. I have learned lot of with this course like Scaling, Projection, Coordinate System etc. It is great course for beginners to know how GIS stands to explain our beautiful world.

创建者 Henrique O

Mar 21, 2021

This course is excellent.

Very well organized and covering very important topics.

The classes are perfect.

The classes are very well conceived.

The presentations are very good!

Congratulations to the instructor Professor Don Boyes.

创建者 MUHAMMAD S

Jun 18, 2021

This course was structured by Prof. Don Boyes with very detailed modules . I have learnt basic of digitization of map and using GIS interface. Very helpful and informative course and I would suggest for beginner level student.

创建者 Aditya K

Sep 6, 2020

Very nice course! Gives you a great background of some basic concepts in GIS; most importantly map projections which I needed very much. I am certainly looking to finish the remaining 3 courses in this series as well.

创建者 Adam C A

Oct 4, 2020

I really like the way the instructor teaches me. I never get board or feel asleep as he presented. You'll get attentive as he can make you laugh. well anyway, thanks to you Sir Don Boyes of the University of Toronto

创建者 Maruf M

Sep 12, 2020

Great Course!

Professor Dr. Don Boyes is highly professional and he knows how to teach a boring topic in an interesting way. I like this course very much. Finally Thanks to Professor Dr. Don Boyes for his great work.

创建者 Shahriar I Z

Jun 1, 2020

Very good introductory course into mapping and ArcGIS. The basics of maps and projections are taught well by Don Boyes with his witty style of teaching. It should be taken as a primary step towards ArcMAP learning.

创建者 Edward J O G

Jul 25, 2020

An excellent course, especially if you're interested in learning the basics of GIS, what it is and its relationship to the world. The videos and material are very complete and clear. Thanks for all the learning!

创建者 Euijin J

Jun 20, 2020

I really like how the instructor views and explains key concepts of GIS. His conceptualization was very helpful as I learned so many fundamental things of GIS in a short time. I truly enjoyed taking this class!

创建者 Дарія І Х

Apr 5, 2020

Great course for beginners in GIS and people who want to have systematic knowledge in GIS and appropriately understand GIS terminology. The very professional lecturer who gives interesting real-world examples

创建者 Rafiuddin N

Mar 19, 2021

I took a GIS class at School as well and I believe this class was well developed and great for me to review the concept I covered in my class. Actually, some concepts become very clear Thank you Don and team

创建者 Samantha F

Jun 23, 2020

Excellent course! I went into the course never using GIS software before and felt that this was a great introduction course. I really enjoyed learning the theory as well as the practical aspects of GIS.

创建者 Alexandra S

May 6, 2021

Excellent course! Strongly recommended, although I started the course after the deadline, so I couldn't obtain the certificate (there weren't projects to review, and nobody available to review mine).