Chevron Left
返回到 Tools for Data Science

学生对 IBM 技能网络 提供的 Tools for Data Science 的评价和反馈

4.5
25,766 个评分

课程概述

In order to be successful in Data Science, you need to be skilled with using tools that Data Science professionals employ as part of their jobs. This course teaches you about the popular tools in Data Science and how to use them. You will become familiar with the Data Scientist’s tool kit which includes: Libraries & Packages, Data Sets, Machine Learning Models, Kernels, as well as the various Open source, commercial, Big Data and Cloud-based tools. Work with Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will understand what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. This course gives plenty of hands-on experience in order to develop skills for working with these Data Science Tools. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R, or Scala. Towards the end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook. You will demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

热门审阅

ED

Aug 14, 2022

I love the detailing of every aspect of this course. The Labs, the free subscriptions and free trials provided by IBM Skills Network, everything has been so amazing. Thank you Coursera, thank you IBM.

GC

Apr 12, 2020

It serves perfecty its aim that is giving a first glance of the open course tools for data science. Of course each tool is briefly touched and it hands over the student the duty to deepen each tool.

筛选依据:

3651 - Tools for Data Science 的 3675 个评论(共 4,179 个)

创建者 Davy D

Mar 17, 2020

5 stars for the first two weeks, but the week about Watson is just terrible. The discussion board is full of complaints.

IBM should not promote itself this way.

Coursera should not spread this content and charge for it. It's a rip off.

The videos are totally outdated and it took literally hours and looking on the discussions on how to get to the point that I could do the application and the final assessment. IBM wasted my valuable time here.

创建者 Valentina M S

Sep 6, 2022

HI,

I bought The specialized program with high hope of learn about Data Science with cero knowledge about it , but honestly it’s not a good course, the videos are totally out of date so you will find yourself lost on each lesson, your peers graded you assessments (someone as you without the knowledge to give a good feedback and grade you assessments) and many features of Watson Studio are not available in countries different from US.

创建者 Ansel N

Mar 18, 2020

I am personally found it very difficult to create a notebook on IBM Watson because course take the tutorial videos from IBM Watson itself without checking whether there is any updates where the UX changed significantly. I have to research Google and forums to find out the ways to create a notebook on IBM Watson. I hope that this review will help the authors of the course find it easier to update the course content.

创建者 Maulik M

Apr 7, 2021

Too much lip service to too many tools. After the first course in the specialization sets expectation that no tech or programming skills are essential as pre-requisites, this course comes along and introduces in the briefest possible way a plethora of tools.

The course will benefit by focusing on only IBM tools and one example from the open source world rather than the mention of so many tools all around the place.

创建者 silvercodeify

Mar 11, 2022

Far too much focus on the proprietary IBM tools - in places the course felt like an advertising event to me. I had hoped that this course would provide a better overview of the many tools, but unfortunately other tools were only mentioned once at most. If this course was not part of the "Data Science" course, I would have dropped it. But I hope that the following courses will be more general again.

创建者 Douglas M

Oct 3, 2018

Well structured layout and solid indications of what the knowledge necessary for a learning path to data science. Which is appreciated as there is a lot information out there and difficult to filter out the noise. The course however is very light and lacks some real educational information. The content would need to be 'beefed' up considerably. And more rigorous quizzes and questions needed.

创建者 Vaughn C

Aug 15, 2020

A lot of good information here which should have been rated higher, but everything took so much longer than it ought to have, because it was so poorly presented. The materials are outdated (or missing/difficult to find with the IRIS dataset) and difficult to follow. The course needs a complete update and overhaul by someone who understands online learning and user interface/user experience.

创建者 Manish R P

May 4, 2020

What they explain in video doesn't have similarity in accessing the real assignment, since its a paid course, they should at least review the content yearly the least.

It took away 2 days to figure it out on my own, in order to complete the assignment, and also disappointing there is no easy access to help of coursera.

Wasted a lot of time and energy, looks like learnt this one on my own.

创建者 Daniel V

Oct 17, 2019

It is basically just a brief overview off the interface and a narrator who reads the text of the tutorial. some of the R video's are out of sync. The Watson Studio one is so outdated that you have to find out yourself how the program works instead of watching a good introduction. overall I've learned nothing this entire course besides opening the program and clicking on the tutorial.

创建者 Yoshihide J S

Dec 31, 2020

From Week 2 to Week 3 some video is not clear, not understable and not enough for video explanation. Some video rectiure video and voice is not clear voice. So, it is very difficult understand how to use IBM Watson studio. And, final assignment also is not enough information from lad. I have to check other outside site for IBM Watson studio Juypter notebook how to process and use.

创建者 Jennifer M

Aug 30, 2022

The tools described didn't follow a clear flow making it hard to recall the purpose of each. It seemed odd to start off with Jupyter Notebooks and GitHub in more detail before covering other tools. The job aids for doing the labs were outdated which complicated following them and also impacted what it took to do the final assignment. This course needs a massive update and overhaul.

创建者 Jan Ż

Aug 26, 2020

The course was ill-prepared - the videos were annoyingly long while not being too informative; big part of the course was simply an IBM marketing content. To conclude the course, the student has to sign up for an IBM service however the instructions are unclear and the sign-up path proposed by the course instructors is faulty, resulting in not being able to fulfil the assessment.

创建者 Garrett F

Dec 5, 2022

These courses are good, but still in the realm of the "memorize and regurgitate" type of class. As an adult who wants to learn concepts and dive into practice of those concepts, this course is a bit inhibitive with all of the chosen questions for quizzes. These prevent you from really grasping a concept, and have to focus more on nit-picky details of each lecture/video.

创建者 Lee J

Sep 28, 2020

As a total and complete beginner when it comes to most things data science, computers, coding, programming, etc., this course was very challenging. It felt unorganized, overwhelming, and filled with jargon. I eventually started putting things together by the end of the course, but it took me a lot longer and a lot more effort (and stress) than I would have liked.

创建者 Shi P

Sep 7, 2019

The tools and website is sometimes hard to connect, and has maintenance/update very often and it made it extra difficult for us new comers to follow up without step by step guide to the new features, which prolonged the course and it wasn't very necessary.

But I did learn a lot from this course hopefully the tools and guides get better for the future students.

创建者 SHANNON L H

Oct 1, 2019

If you are going to create a class, please DOUBLE CHECK everything periodically. We have found most of what you are telling us is wrong and are having to learn by trial and error. I feel sorry for those who do not have a background in computers or speak english. They have to be very frustrated by your outdated instructions that do not work. I know I am.

创建者 Ian A T

Mar 13, 2020

The Skills Network Lab never once worked for me while I was enrolled in this course. While I have Jupyter Notebooks and RStudio available to me via an Anaconda installation, and could therefore follow along to most of the lessons, installing Zeppelin locally proved to be too difficult for me, and thus I have no hands-on experience with Zeppelin thus far.

创建者 Arslan B

Dec 12, 2020

This course came too early. I was overwhelmed with the number of tools covered as part of this which was not required especially the functionality part of each tool. This was the time I was about to quit as it was getting too much. It is better to focus on one tool and once you grasp the concepts of data science, it is easy to replicate across tools

创建者 Dylan H

Feb 25, 2019

Too much content that was not accurate, (i.e. time to actually re-record the videos vs just having all those notes that say they're the same - the navigation on the IBM site is different now, so it's not just a title - time to rerecord). Also, found that a decent amount of it was a rehash of things in the first class in the certification.

创建者 Candace M H

Sep 3, 2020

The course says suitable for beginners but by Week 2, it becomes apparent that this is not actually the case. I was able to finish the course, but with great difficulty and a lot of research outside of the modules to understand this. There should have been a bit more of an introduction to the skills that would have been needed further on.

创建者 Nicole R

Apr 5, 2020

I ended up having to reset the course deadlines multiple times due to the final project. My final project was submitted end of february, and yet still beginning of April have still not received final grades for it, thus need to keep resetting deadlines. A little frustrating to keep paying a new fee for a course that has been completed.

创建者 Matthew M

Feb 19, 2019

Although the intent was clear, and IBM Watson Studio is helpful, this course needs to be rewritten. The week 3 content is a repeat of what was completed in the first course of this certification. Additionally, the content of needs to be updated to reflect the new format and functions of IBM Watson Studio over Data Science Experience.

创建者 Tan G T R

Jul 8, 2020

Rather shallow course that tests you on trivial knowledge mentioned at some point in the videos/readings. More hands-on exercises/assignments will be more useful, instead of just testing on things that can be easily googled. Course does give a nice overview of data science tools, you one does not learn much more than an overview.

创建者 Marcel V

Jun 18, 2019

This one comes to soon in the path to get IBM professional certificate.

To many tools to get a handle off when you just start out. A bit overwhelming

As a stand alone course when you need these tools it is probably ok.

I would have prefered to just stay with skillabs and move on.

and then later maybe come back when absolutely needed.

创建者 James A

Sep 16, 2020

The content of week 2 (module 2) was shockingly bad. Complete disregard for the level that this course is aimed at and extremely bad quality. Week 1 overall was decent compared to week 2, but was a complete data dump and quite a challenge to keep up. Week 3 and the assessment in week 4 were a pleasure and a delight to learn