Chevron Left
返回到 哲学导论

学生对 爱丁堡大学 提供的 哲学导论 的评价和反馈

4.7
8,702 个评分

课程概述

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

热门审阅

LT

Sep 1, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG

Apr 10, 2021

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

筛选依据:

1926 - 哲学导论 的 1950 个评论(共 2,010 个)

创建者 Yash S

Jan 29, 2020

Awesome

创建者 Niranjana.C

Jun 11, 2021

good

创建者 Debanjan D

Jul 6, 2020

great

创建者 Erick J S B

Feb 16, 2017

é bom

创建者 Dipraj Y

Jun 21, 2022

good

创建者 Bibhim m s

May 30, 2021

NICE

创建者 Indranil S

Feb 12, 2021

good

创建者 VISMI V

May 19, 2020

good

创建者 swapnil c

May 12, 2020

nice

创建者 test'"><test

May 17, 2018

asd

创建者 Md S M

Jun 16, 2020

9

创建者 José L D J

Oct 6, 2015

M

创建者 Dhwani R

Jul 7, 2020

Although I greatly enjoyed the teaching in Week 5 of this course, and that part of the course alone has boosted up my rating from a 2 star rating to a 3 star one, I felt like the concepts argued were far from introductory - perhaps even pedantic for someone who was not exposed to the methodology of philosophy beforehand. Examples such as aliens made out of wood, or harping on the tiny difference between the words 'comply' and 'obey' seemed to me at least an insufficient method of explaining concepts, and until I reached week 5 I felt I didn't gain insight into the course. That said, The review assignments were great and the faculty did for their part try to cover as many diverse domains in philosophy as possible in this short duration. The week 5 modules were particularly enjoyable as they seemed to be more relatable, and with more solid arguments that a beginner could grasp more easily. I am glad to have finished this course, but I hope these small issues could be fixed in further versions of the course.

创建者 IVAN J

Nov 20, 2020

I loved some parts of the course only. I was happy to learn. However, as an introductory course, some elements were way tooooo heavy and intense. I struggled to get thru some bits. esp the one on Philosophy of Time.

Perhaps its not useful to pack in too much across a wide spectrum.

Also learning should be broken down into smaller digestible chunks; with small required readings (that are select pages or articles rather than materials that seem even more frightening!

创建者 Eduardo V

Aug 16, 2015

It is a very entertaining broad introduction to the topic of philosophy in general. The lecturers are very knowledgeable and are very good teachers. However, I wish there would be a more detailed treatment of the topics in question. I look forward to their future course on Philosophy of Science, as I believe that by focusing on a more narrow topic, they will be able to go a bit more in depth.

创建者 Regina P Z

Aug 27, 2015

I found the course a little hard to follow mainly because the video lectures would not load. I found I spent more time trying to get the course material working than actually absorbing it.

I really liked the lectures once they were working though. Its a very nice introduction to a way of thinking and the examples used to argument the theories were very entertaining.

创建者 gcitroen

Aug 23, 2015

The way of presenting topics of philosophy is refreshing and inviting for further reflection. The tests however are focusing on nitty gritty differences or features in the presented videos. Less motivating to submit the tests and invites me to focus only on the preseed video and excellent links to other extra sources.

创建者 Monique S

May 13, 2017

i don't really care for different people doing this module but, i understand that there is a lot of information so it has to be broken up. Its kinda hard to keep up due to everyone's different styles. i had to actually print out the transcripts in order to understand certain topics or revise videos more than 3 times.

创建者 Madara u

Dec 3, 2016

This course teach you how important is to have philosophical mind.The overview of what philosophy is in the first lecture is awesome. In further lectures they go into tools of philosophy and major questions and arguments for them.But you have to read the hand outs and have to work yourself through the course.

创建者 Tiara L

Mar 5, 2018

A good overall (modular) introduction to Philosophy and worth completing, but it lacks a more complete development of any of the presented topics. Definitely worth watching the lectures, but in-depth independent work and thorough readings are a must if you want to get more out of this course.

创建者 July C S P

Mar 9, 2020

Los aportes de cada uno de los profesores es muy diferente, algunos de ellos tienen sesiones realmente interesantes y muy bien elaboradas, mientras que en otros las ideas son muy básicas y poco profundas, además de que no se hacen entender bien. Hacen falta las transcripciones en inglés.

创建者 Raúl B

Jan 2, 2016

The classes were pretty good, but the bibliography was not. The bibliography consists of encyclopedia's articles which are not necessarily written to a beginner. It is quite discouraging for someone starting with philosophy to read articles which lacks a pedagogic approach.

创建者 Phil D

Nov 18, 2020

Many of the test questions have multiple answers to be checked. Philosophically, many of the answers are very similar and there is no partial credit. I understand this is a philosophy class but the material was organized nebulously and the tests were even more nebulous.

创建者 Alix R D

Nov 20, 2015

Interesante pero tal vez demasiado amplio para ser una introducción y por lo tanto demasiado general.

No capté el criterio de selección de los temas, y los temas presentados no eran los que esperaba.

Muy buenos los profesores, muy entusiastas de su materia.

创建者 ISHAN S

Jul 7, 2020

The ideas behind certain theories were explained but the basics of how to formulate an argument and checking its validity and soundness were not given. This is what I was expecting from and introductory course.