Chevron Left
返回到 Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python

学生对 IBM 技能网络 提供的 Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python 的评价和反馈

4.6
16,953 个评分

课程概述

Working knowledge of SQL (or Structured Query Language) is a must for data professionals like Data Scientists, Data Analysts and Data Engineers. Much of the world's data resides in databases. SQL is a powerful language used for communicating with and extracting data from databases. In this course you will learn SQL inside out- from the very basics of Select statements to advanced concepts like JOINs. You will: -write foundational SQL statements like: SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE -filter result sets, use WHERE, COUNT, DISTINCT, and LIMIT clauses -differentiate between DML & DDL -CREATE, ALTER, DROP and load tables -use string patterns and ranges; ORDER and GROUP result sets, and built-in database functions -build sub-queries and query data from multiple tables -access databases as a data scientist using Jupyter notebooks with SQL and Python -work with advanced concepts like Stored Procedures, Views, ACID Transactions, Inner & Outer JOINs Through hands-on labs and projects, you will practice building SQL queries, work with real databases on the Cloud, and use real data science tools. In the final project you’ll analyze multiple real-world datasets to demonstrate your skills....

热门审阅

BS

May 20, 2020

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

SR

Aug 25, 2022

I am thankful to coursera for providing database and sql for data science course in such a way that anyone can

understand the basic fundamental of sql and database. I learn a lot from this course.

筛选依据:

1551 - Databases and SQL for Data Science with Python 的 1575 个评论(共 2,224 个)

创建者 Josh H

Jan 9, 2020

aaa

创建者 Karan K

Aug 25, 2022

,

创建者 André J A

Jul 22, 2021

ok

创建者 Kiran K

Jun 16, 2020

NA

创建者 Talha A

Sep 11, 2019

<3

创建者 Ananya G

Nov 16, 2022

g

创建者 Jaysmita S

Mar 20, 2022

.

创建者 Gauri A

Jan 29, 2022

G

创建者 Rafael A O

Nov 8, 2021

T

创建者 Aqeel A A

Oct 13, 2021

创建者 Vu C T

Sep 1, 2021

创建者 Ali C B

Nov 17, 2020

.

创建者 koradedinesh@johndeere.com

Jan 23, 2020

G

创建者 Mao T T

Mar 22, 2020

Of the courses in this professional data science certificate I have taken, this is probably the best designed one. The labs force you to think and apply what you learnt in the video and not simply make minor modification to example codes. By the end of the course, I have internalized some of the commands. Overall, the labs were rather effective at drilling the concepts into students.

Some of the labs in the second week were rather lazily written. Instead of asking students to practice what they saw in the videos, all labs should contain actual questions that ask students to apply what they have learnt to new examples and problems, forcing them to think about what they have learnt.

The grading system is also in need of improvement. Some graders do not seem to know what they are doing. Simply resubmitting the assignment can result in a drastically improved score simply because the first grader was marking down answers that were actually correct. Perhaps there could be multiple graders assigned to any single assignment and the average score taken, or something to that effect.

创建者 Dinesh M

Apr 20, 2022

I found it had the right balance of sql coding exercises with clear and illustrtive practise task. Although I personally never asked a question in the forum, the answers to existing posers aided me well. I must say the staff were empathetic and their responses in the forum generally exuded this friendly spirit, which is very important to code newbies. It's a huge bonus to learn IBM's cloud service interface alongside sql through this course and I didn't find the application interface overwhelming as some of the tech firms offering, I still found it difficult to access different resources like the sql studio and jupyter notebook on ibm cloud and the documentation there wasn't the most intuitive. I would give a five star when these resource links are made easier to identify.

创建者 Amy P

May 8, 2019

This is a great course and I particularly appreciated the integration with Python/Jupyter notebooks. As in previous courses in the IBM certificate program, the labs were the highlight. They challenged students to answer questions using real data sets. Going from start to finish - from sourcing and downloading data all the way to analysis - was very helpful in mastering all of the techniques.

A couple of sections felt out of place: in my opinion, the optional database schema topics could become a separate course of their own, while the section on joins deserved more attention. The lecture slides, with the pictures of interconnected tables, were a bit hard to read and could do with an upgrade. Overall though, great pacing, with easily digestible videos. Highly recommend.

创建者 NS

Nov 8, 2021

First of all I would like to thank all the instructors and all the staff for their contribution in making this course and helping out students in times of need.The course was well designed and a lot of topic they have covered in this course related to Database and SQL. However, the main issue a lot of the students including me have faced was the use of IBM cloud account and IBM skilled network labs. The skilled network was down and it is still down for maintenance purposes in the middle of the course without having any back up service in place. It was really annoying and I lost a lot of time due to this problem. For the perspective students I wish you all the best and once more to all the instructors and to all the staff thank you.

创建者 Yohaunin Z

Sep 1, 2021

I think the learning process was easy with this one, minus a technical issue, so far this one has been my favorite:

Learning the various commands in SQL was very simple and straight forward, the course was surprisingly detailed regarding SQL, using Python with a database api to interact with the database Db2, establishing a connection to that database and using SQL magic to make interacting with Db2 more simple and straightforward.

There was a technical issues with SQL Magic (resolved) ,

however the course is very easy to study, surprisingly detailed, includes lots of hands on labs to practice coding on, it even comes with a bonus section for more advanced people.

Overall I really enjoyed this course!!!

创建者 PIERRE A

Feb 18, 2020

I propose you to put all the option chapiters in a advanced certificate for this course.

It was "a long journey" for me but I was motivated to complete this class.

Thank you very much.

I do love your videos and the Hands on lab.

Please note that before taking this class I knew nothing in coding in sql and python!

But now, I appreciate it and find it very easy to understand!!!! I'm sure that your good way to teach this class using all the matreials has contribuated to help me!

I m going know to buy 2 books: for more advanced knowledge, one in sql programming and the 2nd in python for data science!!

Thank you very much

👌👍👌👍😍😍

创建者 David A

Sep 9, 2018

This course is good for anyone who is a complete beginner, new to, or looking to refresh their knowledge of Structured Query Languages (SQL). Ideally would have liked to have a lesson on optimizing SQL queries since many queries become inefficient for data tables with very large row counts, but I understand this didn't make sense since the free IBM DB2 database they have you set up has a size limit of 100 MB. No need for optimization with data this small, but it's still something they should have at least mentioned in the course as an optional lesson. Overall, nice course for learning or refreshing SQL and database concepts.

创建者 Shuo J

Aug 5, 2020

The instructor and course materials are very good! But the peer reviewing for the assignment is NOT well-organized, as one problem in my assignment was not graded correctly, and obviously it's a "trembling hand error" made by the grader. Coursera has in-built mechanism to prevent such error: it uses median grade for each problem as your grade. But this mechanism only works if each problem is graded by enough students, which is not the case in this course based on my observations in the forum. I would suggest the course designer to require each student to grade at least three assignments before they can earn the certificate.

创建者 shaza s

Jan 20, 2022

Course is very well-structured, organized and satisfied an optimum balance between theory and practical practice. The hands on labs were very rich and endorsed the learning process greatly. For a first time learner of SQL, this course provided me with a solid foundation in a very reasonable amount of time. My only comments would be on the Db2 cloud that sometimes is inaccessible and the peer-review assignments that was sometime not graded fairly, yet The instructors were very helpfull and resopnsed to both situations I faced in a very timely manner. Overall, highly recommended course.

创建者 Cia A Y

Aug 22, 2021

This course was structured well and very informative. I was able to understand everything well even with very minimal SQL and Python knowledge at the beginning of this course.

One point of improvement is the service credential/connection issue faced by many people that prevented us from doing the assignments and thus continuing with the course. For me, the root of the problem was the location of my account (I chose the US instead of London, UK). The organisers of this course should further look into the cause(s) of the connection problem and ensure that it gets fixed ASAP.

创建者 Helena R

May 1, 2022

Alot was learnt from the course. It proved to be quite challenging with connection issues. While I was able to complete the course, I have have preferred to have had better explantions for the chellenges experience instead of being re-routed to another environment since, initially, optional labs were not done. Would have also preferred to have access to slides from the course material. But to create a balance, I did learn a,ot from the contents. The TAs/STAFF were really responsive as I did bcome depressed and overwhelmed because I felt so challenged. Thank you.

创建者 My R

Jul 28, 2021

The course itself was very interesting and well organized. However, I second previous comments underlining the issues with Db2. It took me at least an hour with around 30 failed attempts. I was only able to access Db2 after switching the location to Dallas. I also agree with some learners that the peer review assignment was a source of frustration. I received 2/26 even though my answers included all required elements with correct outputs. Overall, it was a good learning experience so I still would recommend this course despite the aforementioned hiccups.