Chevron Left
返回到 SQL for Data Science

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 SQL for Data Science 的评价和反馈

4.6
14,391 个评分

课程概述

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

热门审阅

JG

Aug 22, 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

GC

Dec 29, 2022

Great course! A solid way to introduce a learner to programming in SQL!! Sadie is an amazing online instructor! Thank you to Sadie and UC Davis for offering this course through the Coursera platform!!

筛选依据:

2851 - SQL for Data Science 的 2875 个评论(共 3,783 个)

创建者 Şeyma

Aug 12, 2021

This is a great SQL course! I would love to see more case examples in each videos of the week? In some videos, it felt a bit confusing to understand the spesific cases in which we should use the joins, unions or other statements.

创建者 Rishav A

Jun 6, 2021

The course was overall very good. One thing which I felt can be improved is the pace of the modules. The level towards the end shot up very quickly.

I would definitely recommend this course for anyone who wants to start with SQL.

创建者 Kshitij K

May 26, 2020

Good course to learn SQL queries. I think it will be helpful for someone who wants to pursue a career in data science. Final assignment and quizzes however were very confusing and not in line with what was taught in the videos.

创建者 Callum L

Feb 4, 2018

A good introduction to SQL. The first few weeks were very informative and easy to follow, however week 3 and week 4 seemed disjointed. Some topics were covered very briefly, so I feel like my understanding Is not quite complete.

创建者 Christian A R N

Jul 28, 2018

very nice course and good explanation

would have been nice if a summary document would have been provided at the end of each module to be able to look up content more easy and have a guide when writing applications later in time

创建者 Mariam

Jul 1, 2022

It was my first time doing a peer review assignment and it increase my knowledge a lot by seeing different ways to solve the same problem and different ways of thinking.

The Assignment was very helpful on apply what you learn.

创建者 Shahbaz S

Jun 17, 2021

its much easy to understand the queries with the simple explanation . Best for beginners but I suggest to go through sql and how queries work before starting this course so that it will be helpful to quickly grasp the queries

创建者 SWARNIM S

Oct 7, 2022

Everything was good except there was a sudden rise in difficulty level of question in day 2&3.

And also i think that if the instructer had asked to guess answer during teaching, it would had given a much clearer solutions.

创建者 Mert y

Dec 17, 2020

I think the course need more practice quiz and all practice code quizzes answers should be put.Because If I don't remember wrong, Week2 and Week3 practice quizzes answers were not put. Apart from these the course is so good.

创建者 Katherine R

Nov 14, 2019

I think the peer-reviewed assignment should be only on the last portion of the last project for the custom data analysis part only. Because the other questions are very technical and can accelerate the process of grading :)

创建者 Guillermo E F

Feb 7, 2018

I enjoyed the course and learnt quite a lot in a relatively short time. My only critic is that I felt there was a gap between the depth with which each topic was cover in the lectures and the complexity of the final exam.

创建者 Rahul M

Dec 15, 2020

Nowadays SQL is majorly using for Data Preparation, not for analysis as we have many advanced softwares to do that. Just one suggestion: Can you add a section how data can be transfered from SQL after Data preparation ?

创建者 ANUBHAV C

May 8, 2020

I believe this course focused entirely on retrieving data and no emphasis was given on creating or modifying tables. If these topics would have been included then it can come out as a complete package for learning SQL

创建者 Naman K

Mar 26, 2019

This is a great course for beginners. One of the things which can be improved is to have more practice questions to use all the concepts introduced in the lectures. For example: I did not get a lot of chance to create

创建者 Reetika N

Sep 8, 2022

The Course was a great, well structured and gave good hands on experience with the queries and quizzes. The only thing lacking was no proper instructions were given to use the sandbox, I really struggled with that.

创建者 Angie A Y

May 24, 2021

Course videos could include the respective output after showing codes. it is hard to imagine the output when we first get to know a new sql function.

Some peer review assignment questions are hardly understandable.

创建者 FUAD A J

Nov 19, 2019

I have prior knowledge on SQL as a programmer. However after studying this course I got a another flavor of SQL from the Data Science point of view. I loved this course and the trainer as well. Thank you coursera.

创建者 Sim Y X S

Jun 16, 2019

Some examples in the later part of the course is a bit difficult to understand for those with limited programming background. Few broken down, step by step examples of complex queries will be highly appreciated.

创建者 Vikram S

Jan 14, 2021

The videos and explanations are nice but it would be excellent if the running of SQL code and its outcome

Will also be shown in the video so as to explain the minute difference between two functions in the code

创建者 W I

Dec 9, 2020

The course was very well organized and the instructor was fabulous. I just wish we had received more practice exercises as I feel that I know the material theoretically well but practically I'm less confident.

创建者 Kanatip Y

Jan 11, 2021

The course is mostly based on theoretical content, which makes it a pretty good foundation for those who have never touched SQL. I would rate this course 5 star if it provided more examples and applications.

创建者 Jiawei L

Sep 23, 2019

The first two modules are okay and easy to understand, but the last two modules are little bit confusing, and from my perspective, the instructor is simply reading the script rather than teaching a lesson.

创建者 Andrew R

Jul 10, 2022

Easy to understand and learn basic SQL concepts over 4 weeks. Only wish it was longer with more opportunities to practice coding. Will definitely look at taking a more advanced SQL course through Coursera.

创建者 孫司祿

Jul 6, 2021

The final project was way harder than the materials taught in classes, It would be better if they teach more before letting us handle such challenging task. Still the course was great, and I learned a lot.

创建者 Naomi N

Jun 14, 2019

The course content itself was awesome! Be ready for some technical glitches though. As long as you pay close attention to the forum, you should be fine. Overall, I would definitely recommend this course.