Chevron Left
返回到 SQL for Data Science

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 SQL for Data Science 的评价和反馈

4.6
14,391 个评分

课程概述

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

热门审阅

NK

Oct 5, 2022

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

GC

Dec 29, 2022

Great course! A solid way to introduce a learner to programming in SQL!! Sadie is an amazing online instructor! Thank you to Sadie and UC Davis for offering this course through the Coursera platform!!

筛选依据:

2876 - SQL for Data Science 的 2900 个评论(共 3,786 个)

创建者 孫司祿

Jul 6, 2021

The final project was way harder than the materials taught in classes, It would be better if they teach more before letting us handle such challenging task. Still the course was great, and I learned a lot.

创建者 Naomi N

Jun 14, 2019

The course content itself was awesome! Be ready for some technical glitches though. As long as you pay close attention to the forum, you should be fine. Overall, I would definitely recommend this course.

创建者 Alena

Sep 9, 2020

I think the peer review exercise is a great way to test your learned skills. The lectures are easy to understand but I think it would be better if you added more info about the structure of ER diagrams.

创建者 Andrés F D C

Sep 1, 2020

As an introductory course is well designed and well explained. The supplement lectures were of great help. Maybe a little introduction to Analytical Functions should help to make it completely awesome!

创建者 Bhupinder

Jun 21, 2020

Overall the content is good and the tutor is also good in the explanation the codes and concepts.

One suggestion there should be a more practical example and as well as how to run a query on a dataset.

创建者 Aaron H

Mar 12, 2019

Although several concepts are not explained very clearly and a number of assessment questions are unclearly worded, this course is otherwise an excellent introduction to understanding and applying SQL.

创建者 Eduard S

Apr 15, 2021

I liked most of the course, but in week 4 it felt rushed. The code shown in the slides wasn't formatted consistently all the time.

But all in all thanks for the education. I would recommend the course.

创建者 Neha G

Aug 28, 2020

The course is nice but I suppose the PowerPoint presentation that accompanies it could use some effects to show us the clauses one by one, as they are spoke. That would make understanding them easier.

创建者 Samuel M

Mar 16, 2020

Good course for beginners.

- classes are fine

- quizzes evaluate quite well your understanding I think

- the final assessment contains plenty of VERY ambiguous questions and I think it should be reworked

创建者 Manan V

Jul 20, 2020

Please Included examples while the instructor is teaching in the video lectures. The instructor is very talented in teaching but due to lack of examples in the video it downgrades the overall course.

创建者 Yashchenko P

Oct 10, 2022

Really good course with intresting final task. In any situation will be shown "common structure of querry" and at most cases real-life examples. Will be great if this examples appear in every case

创建者 Lenard O

Sep 12, 2018

Did not need to be a peer review assessment, most of the tests lacked creativity and could be automated. The peer review component should just apply to the creative components that can be expanded.

创建者 Felipe A

Sep 14, 2020

The contents and explanations on the course are good, even for people with no previews coding experience (like me)... Would be great to have a better structured way of work for the final excercise

创建者 Leonor G

Apr 10, 2018

Great course for beginners, very clear and instructor share useful tips. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because I think there could be more material related to date and time functions.

创建者 Bruno G

Nov 10, 2019

Videos are a bit lengthy course could be shorter by 10-20% from a time perspective with the content staying the same. Overall good course for anyone that need to learn or to refresh their skills.

创建者 Adarsh P M

Sep 24, 2020

Presentation was Nice, But Skipped few basic concepts in the beginning like types of DBMS and how why we use RDBMS in particular.

Also could have explained better on few topics in Week 4 sessions

创建者 Patricia D

Jun 22, 2020

It's so pitying that we can send more than one time our end test. That decreases the quality and credibility of the end certification.

But the course is very well done: nice teacher and content!

创建者 Sherry S

May 6, 2022

Sadie is an excellent teacher. The course was enough to get me started. I still feel that I need to continue working with the concepts to become more proficient and more confident in coding.

创建者 Edmund D

Jun 26, 2019

Nice that it doesn't expect us to know SQL and programming well. But not nearly enough exercises to understand how to do the queries well. I am feeling lost on the practice tests especially.

创建者 Aditya S

May 14, 2020

A well-structured course for those who are eager to gain knowledge about SQL.

The activity, test, and the mentor are very good and the best part is they showcase a bit of industry knowledge.

创建者 Seçkin S

Aug 15, 2022

Really good information about SQL for the beginner but actually that informations are %80 in SQL so if you wanna or start the Structured Query Languages here is a good place. Good Work :)

创建者 Melinda E

Aug 31, 2022

Good basic course. I would have preferred more coding practice and fewer lectures. Also would have liked to have seen the breakdown of my final exam grade. It's a good starting place.

创建者 Mohd S

Jan 26, 2022

Best for new learners who started their journey in the SQL world. But the video lectures are simpler than the assignments and quiz, the lecture should also include more question solving

创建者 Rodrigo M S T

Mar 20, 2021

Great course for begginers!

-Simple explanations and good examples;

-No need to install anything;

-I would say that some questions are unclear.

Overall, great introduction to SQL. Thank you!

创建者 Gianina G

May 14, 2020

Great course, with well explained notion, well documented. The only thing I could add is that some exercises could be updated. Creates confusion when trying to solve.

Great presentation.