Chevron Left
返回到 SQL for Data Science

学生对 加州大学戴维斯分校 提供的 SQL for Data Science 的评价和反馈

4.6
14,391 个评分

课程概述

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

热门审阅

NK

Oct 5, 2022

Amazing course for beginners! The entire course is well structured and has good hands-on assignments. SQL is extremely essential for Database management and fun learning so please do try this one out!

GC

Dec 29, 2022

Great course! A solid way to introduce a learner to programming in SQL!! Sadie is an amazing online instructor! Thank you to Sadie and UC Davis for offering this course through the Coursera platform!!

筛选依据:

301 - SQL for Data Science 的 325 个评论(共 3,785 个)

创建者 Vinesh A

Jun 12, 2020

Course content was very useful for SQL Beginner and intermediate. This SQL course covers all the basics of SQL code. User can easily create queries through this content to get the data as per his requirement. Recommended course.

创建者 Jennifer M

Feb 24, 2020

Great class for a beginner with no SQL experience. I had already taken another SQL for beginners online class but got MUCH more out of this one. The instructor did a great job with starting with the basics and building upon them.

创建者 Summer M

Apr 9, 2018

Great introduction to SQL- I knew nothing about the programming language prior and have minimal experience with writing code. The course was easy to understand and had great practice examples in the quizzes. 10 out of 10 recommend.

创建者 Ruchitha G

Nov 6, 2019

Its a very clearly explained information that i received from this course that made me want to pursue data science. I'm going to take up projects and look for internships since i ve learnt enough to know this is something id enjoy

创建者 Daren C

May 4, 2018

This is a great learning experience. Although I have learned Database System Concept during my undergraduate course, this course taught me something new and novel. This is my first course in coursera. Hopefully I can work harder.

创建者 Kyriakos M

Nov 4, 2022

The perfect introduction to SQL, also I love the parts with the live questions when you watch the course. The most important part of this course is that Ms. Sadie St. Lawrence is passionate about teaching and that helped a lot.

创建者 ABDUL R

Mar 5, 2019

Best thing about this course is that its syllabus starts with fundamentals of SQL and covered most of the concept of SQL. By completing this course you will be able to write data queries according to client or your requirement.

创建者 KÜBRA T

Jan 3, 2021

I find it very good to start SQL training. I was an absolute beginner and with a very lot of exercises, I believe that I covered a great foundation. Now it's time to continue building some more. I highly recommend this course.

创建者 Ahmed M K M

Dec 3, 2020

I was so weak applying my sql knowledge before taking this course, but this course made me write many sql query which made me after that very confident enough to write sql query on my own.

Thank you so much for your support <3

创建者 Olorunfemi T

Nov 30, 2020

A really good introduction to SQLite. Easy to understand but it would have been better if while the examples (codes) were displayed, there is a corresponding database so people can practice what they see and understand better.

创建者 Peter O O

Sep 26, 2019

A good course especially for the beginners. Part 2 of the assignment, however, is more intense than the expectations, incorporating some areas not included in the course, which I guess is to compel learners for more research.

创建者 Thuong M

Feb 23, 2022

From someone who doesn't know anything about DB or SQL, I can now write and think about how to solve some basic exercises and apply them to real data. I really appreciate the instructor and your help to get me into the class.

创建者 Ferran T

Jan 31, 2021

Perfect to learn SQLite commands for the first time. The teacher explains all topics clearly and it is easy to understand and follow. Activities are useful and the peer-assignment is a good way of applying everything learned.

创建者 Rama

Apr 13, 2020

This course introduced why SQL is a fundamental skill worth learning. Step by step tutorials helps to learn quickly through each exercise. I would certainly take more online courses from this teacher Sadie. Thank you, Sadie!

创建者 Sarah R

May 11, 2021

As someone with no coding experience, this course did an excellent job of helping me jump into the world of SQL. I feel like I know what SQL does and can do, and what my next steps are if I want to become even better at it.

创建者 Joe D

Jun 26, 2019

Great course for a beginner or novice SQL learner! I especially enjoyed that the course is focused on learning SQL to be applied to data science scenarios. Useful for anyone interested in improving their SQL query knowledge

创建者 Zin M T

Sep 23, 2022

Before, I thought writing codes aren't for me. This course made my fear of writing codes disappear. If i didn't take this course, my career would be counterproductive. Now, I am very confident about SQL. Thanks a million.

创建者 PHAM N P A

Jul 13, 2020

This course is useful for people wishing to understand SQL basic. The presentation is lively with simple example to replicate. Each section is from 5-15 minutes, suitable for people who do not have long time span each day.

创建者 Sarah J S

Nov 5, 2019

This was a really solid class to understand and apply basic concepts. It requires that you put some work in, especially if you're less familiar with SQL, but it has been useful to me already in refining some of my coding.

创建者 Maria A G A

Oct 26, 2022

Muy bien explicado. Importante la explicación del por qué de las cosas y de la importancia de las mismas. Problemas que antes no podía realizar ahora si. La manera de corregirnos el trabajo final estuvo muy interesante.

创建者 Dikshant l

Mar 4, 2019

A really good course. They have covered all the details starting from the basics and made sure you have understood everything through quizes. The quizes are also great and cover all the concepts taught during the videos

创建者 Amin K

Aug 4, 2021

It was nice to study such course which will helpful for data science journey, It helped me a lot to clear the concept of SQL. I appreciate the work of instructor Ms. Sadie St. Lawrence with her through knowledge in SQL.

创建者 Shahryar S

Nov 10, 2020

It was a great experience to have a course. It was my first ever course as Online. I am thinking that the journey has started and it will never end. I also have selected the next course that I will complete in the next.

创建者 MANIMARAN V

Nov 7, 2020

Excellent...! The Course was very well taught by the Lecturer Sadie St,Lawrence. Its easy to understand if we just listen to her carefully apart from reading from the notes. Thank you very much madam :)

创建者 Karthikeyan A

May 30, 2022

Very clear and concise professor! Seemed very passionate about data science! The content was very interesting. This was in fact my first course on Coursera. I recommend this course to anyone interested in data science.