Chevron Left
返回到 English for Career Development

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 English for Career Development 的评价和反馈

4.8
13,692 个评分

课程概述

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

热门审阅

KA

May 3, 2021

I enjoyed this Course English for Career Development and learnt a lot .The instructor were so helpful and proactive that it was easy for me to learn and I was able to reach clear all the assignment ..

R

Jul 20, 2020

AN EXCELLENT COURSE. THE TEACHERS ARE OUT STANDING. THERE IS A CLARITY OF THOUGHT AND EXPRESSION IN THE TEACHERS. EVERY ONE WHO IS SEARCHING FOR JOB SHOULD DO THIS COURSE. CONGRATULATIONS TO THE TEAM.

筛选依据:

226 - English for Career Development 的 250 个评论(共 5,186 个)

创建者 Anita P V

Feb 1, 2022

I loved it!!!! All information has been wonderful, teachers/speakers are amazing, I loved them too. I really want to give my congratulations about the course it was very usefull for me, because now I have clear understanding of some topics and details that I was not consider it. Thanks for sharing your knowdledge, time and information. See you soon.

创建者 Samantha F

Aug 23, 2021

This course is fantastic for those of you who need that extra push to learn English but at the same time need guidance to help you along the way. Mr. Brian and Ms. Robyn give really easy to understand explanations. This course is really insightful and will assist your first step into the professional world. Thank you so much Mr. Brian and Ms. Robyn!

创建者 Sassa

Oct 6, 2020

Thank you so much Coursera and the University of Pennsylvania for this opportunity. I have learned so many things and this will all greatly benefit my career. This is life-changing for me. You provide opportunities. You provide opportunities for people like me (a PWD because of Cancer). Thank you so much. This will definitely help improve my resume.

创建者 Roman S

Jan 7, 2018

Great gratitude for such useful course, I had failed some interviews in the past and I wasn't understanding why. I thought it was unfairly. But now I got it. There were my failures. And in the future, I would be prepared job seeker and I would present my qualification from the best side. And I would be more professional during all employment cycle.

创建者 Abdoulrahmane B

Aug 2, 2021

The courses were so interesting and it teaches how to increase the potentials in terms of job seeking. The benefits is first to improve your English skills, two to perform your writing resumes and cover letters also how to networking.

As a result, the lectures are so amazing and the explanations are quite well understandable.

Thank you vey much.

创建者 Daria C

May 20, 2020

Great course for anyone who wants to better understand hiring process in United States and have difficulties in understanding cultural, ethical or some legal aspects. Thank you for the chapter regarding illegal questions on the interview in US, i opened that heard so many of them over past years and i'm happy i now learned how to deal with it.

创建者 Matiullah R

Jan 30, 2023

OMG! It's more than just an "English for Career Development" Certificate. If you have time... there is nothing else better than taking this course. No... not just English, it will help you with a lot of stuff in brief. Yeah, go ahead and start it right away.

Thanks a lot (the whole team behind) for making this course available to everyone. :)

创建者 Amin M a K a A M G

May 17, 2022

I found this course very useful because it helped me review my English grammar skills as well as my career development processes. I am using this course as a springboard for career development. The course was a great reminder of the skills necessary for getting a job utilizing every avenue possible in order to be succesful in getting a job.

创建者 Heidi R L

Aug 1, 2021

True enough, I have learned enormously and gained significant knowledge and skills that will definitely help me to advance in my chosen career. I am now confident to build my resume, write my cover letter and this prepared me more than ever for an interview. Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to be part of this remarkable course.

创建者 MATIAS E O R

Jun 24, 2020

I´ve learnt the proccess to get a good chance to enter to workworld knowing the different strategies that employers use to hire employees. In this course you´re going to learn how can you do a resume, cover letter and a very well job interview. Also you will be able to enter in a networking. It was a really good experience and I recommend it.

创建者 Eugen F

Apr 25, 2020

This cource is especially good for the people, who have not a lot experience with the job seeking process, and also for them, who seeked a job last time a long ago. Also it will be very helpful for them, who is learning englisch right now and did not reach the upper levels in that. Thank coursera for this opportunity, I'm glad you're exists!

创建者 Oana S S

Sep 24, 2021

Thank you to both instructors for helping me to add the proper finishing touches to my resume + cover letter. This course also helped me a lot by showing how important is to prepare myself for possible improptu questions during the interview. I thought that being an experienced professional is enough ... Guess what? Is not :(((. Thank you !

创建者 Martha B C

Aug 16, 2020

Nice course!

I really enjoyed this course, I learnt so many new things and I feel more confident to apply for a job.

One of my life goals is to work in a International company and this course was excellent to have a general idea of how different is applying for a job in other countries. Besides, I learnt quiet more vocabulary that I expected.

创建者 Rajesh L

May 2, 2020

It is a very nice course I have learned lots. I want to thanks especially, my mentors who provide me, classes, online. through videos, readings, and practice exercises the Coursera website.

Thank you very much, Sir and Madam, Coursera and the UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, Design a very good course for us.

Yours Sincerely

Rajesh Lal from INDIA

创建者 Vinaya k

Nov 6, 2022

The course was really very useful to me. I have gained good knowledge on how to prepare for the interview and also found what is my next step that I should take. The lecture was amazing they explained very clearly. The assignment and grading system was motivated me compete each assignment. overall it was a good time to spend on this course.

创建者 Yahaira P J

Jun 19, 2017

This course helped me to develop knowledge about the job search in the united states and how to create my resume to bring a good first impression as well as the cover letter. This course also helped me to feel confident using elevator speech to introduce my self in events. Thanks to the teachers for the way that they present each lesson.

创建者 Aamir K

Nov 4, 2016

This course " English for Career Development helped me learn various important topics about how to be successful in Career. It helped me know my strengths and weaknesses. how can I write a proper Resume and cover letter . and I also learned how to face an Interview. This course was very useful and the knowledge it gave me is really helpful

创建者 Jane

Aug 23, 2020

Simple English, using 1.5 speed to finish the videos is better for me, the course goes thought basics of job finding step, very clear and helpful for a beginner! I would say these knowledge are the MUST knew ones when finding a job. It also makes me more confident after the course. Thank you. Wish all the job seeker find their ideal jobs!

创建者 somaya a e r

Jul 13, 2019

it was a very useful experience. I have learned a lot of skills such as writing my own resume, a cover letter, how to overcome my fear about the interview, how to be an organized person in my interview. I'm already searching for a career and have sent my cv to some companies. thanks for that course I have known what is a resume basically.

创建者 SANDRA R

Nov 20, 2016

Hello, I want to send my congratulations and gratefulness to the teachers: Robyn Turner and Brian McManus, as well as to the tecnical team whose amaizing work makes possible the offer of this course. This is my first course in coursera, I enjoyed it a lot and learned many usefull things taht are helping in develop my career. Thanks a lot.

创建者 Nida M

Mar 28, 2022

This is the best course. I got to know how important a cover letter is, and how can I write the best cover letter. Also, I updated my resume according to the format outlined in this course. I never knew about the two types of resume, but now I can organize my resume very well. I am sincerely to both the amazing mentors!

Kind Regards,

Nida

创建者 Shuvrodev B

May 6, 2021

Thank you for such an awesome course. It was very much useful and important for me. I've learned so many important things regarding the job application process. Learnings from this course will definitely help me to get a good job. Thanks, Brian and Robyn as well as the University of Pennysylvania, Coursera, and Commonwealth of learning.

创建者 Néstor S I

Mar 23, 2021

It is a very helpfull course, it explains in an easy way all the steps you will follow to get a job and provides you with the basic knowlegde to do it properly. I would also like to thank both instructors for their good theaching skills and their great understandable speaking english, which makes really comfortable to follow the course.

创建者 Andréa M

Jan 30, 2023

This is a thorough course to assist professionals in showing eventual employees their value, talents, skills, and development simply and efficiently. I was glad to verify I already knew some paths to present myself professionally, but also learned helpful tips and suggestions on how to proceed when looking for a job or just networking.